___  ____  ____   ___  __
 / __)(  __)/ ___) / __)/  \
( (__  ) _) \___ \( (__(  O )
 \___)(____)(____/ \___)\__/

I Created a Video Game for Casio PB-100

How the Idea Came to Me

I wanted to share a game that I recently discovered and really enjoy. It's called PAKU PAKU, and I found it on this site:

https://abagames.github.io/crisp-game-lib-11-games/?pakupaku

It was created by ABA Games, and I must say it's truly a gem.

It's essentially a simplified version of Pac-Man. But don't be fooled, because even though it's played on a single line instead of a maze, I assure you it's super fun. It has that classic, addictive touch that makes Pac-Man a timeless game. You should really try it; I think you'll really enjoy it!

And the Light Bulb Suddenly Comes On

While I was playing, I thought it would be the ideal game for my old laptop, the Casio PB-100F, and also not too difficult to implement, even with the outdated BASIC language. So, I decided to try creating my own version that would work on that computer. I managed to do it in about three hours, working on it a bit on Monday evening and a bit this afternoon.

I can say that I really enjoyed creating this project; I felt like I was an 11-year-old kid again, creating small video games just for the pure fun of it. I did it without thinking about fame or money; I just wanted to have fun.

This is what I came up with:

YouTube Video

Link to My Video Game

If there are still any users out there of Casio PB-100, PB-100F pocket computers, and Tandy PC-4, I've uploaded the game in WAV format along with the BASIC source code on my itch.io profile, which I'll also share below.

Link to Paku Paku for Casio PB-100 on Itch.io

_-_-_-_-_-_

Thanks for reading!

If you want to get in touch with me, you can use one of the following links:

Mastodon
GitHub
Email

Otherwise..

Go back to the main page

© 2024 Francesco Maida. You are free to distribute the content posted here, as long as you mention me and my website or gemini capsule. Hosted by smol.pub